Moon River – American Idol Season 4 – Anwar Robinson

So I guess the obvious song to start with is Moon River, written by Johnny Mercer (lyrics) and Henry Mancini (music) in 1961and sung by Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  Moon River also won the Academy Award for Best Original Song. 

Moon river, wider than a mile
I’m crossin’ you in style, some day
Old dream maker, you heartbreaker
Wherever you’re goin’, I’m goin’ your way.

Two drifters, off to see the world
There’s such a lot of world, to see
We’re after the same rainbow’s end, waitin’ ’round the bend
My Huckleberry friend, moon river, and me.

My favorite line in the song is My Huckleberry Friend so I went looking for the meaning.  Some people thought that huckleberry was a reference to Huckleberry Hound – in the movie Paul wears a cartoon mask of a dog, but not Huckleberry Hound.  Others think the reference is to Huckleberry Finn who drifted down the Mississippi on a raft.  This one sounds like it could be true. Is the Moon River really the Mississippi River?

But according to Mercer, as a child he and his friends would pick huckleberries along the river, so Huckleberry Friend refers to his old, childhood friends.  I can remember having friends like that and wish I had a special name for them.  So I have decided that they are my Huckleberry Friends too.  In fact I think all my good friends are now my Huckleberry Friends!

Moon River has been recorded by Ben E. King, Jerry Vale, Percy Faith, Steve Lawrence, Tony Bennett, Andy Williams, Cassandra Wilson, Frank Sinatra, Louis Armstrong, Morrisey, R.E.M., Willie Nelson, Eva Cassidy, and many, many others.  

Anwar Robinson from American Idol season 4 did an excellent job.

Anwar Robinson – American idol Season 4

Ysabellabrave – My favorite – Double Click to Open in YouTube

Audrey Hepburn – The original

Here’s a great Moon River site with over 100 versions (Real Player and mp3s)  of Moon River.  Which is your favorite?  What is the song about?  Did you see the movie?

4 responses to “Moon River – American Idol Season 4 – Anwar Robinson

  1. Can’t get Ysabella to play.

    Wow. 100 versions….well, I have to say, I have a few favorites…

    Ben E. King’s is fine….

    also, Louis Armstrong, Frank Sinatra, Streisand, and Brook Benton are also all very good.

    I really love Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Audrey Hepburn was such a class act….and George Peppard was superb as well. If I’m not mistaken, I believe there was much consternation about Audrey singing this herself. Finally, the Director, Blake Edwards, decided that Holly Golightly should sing her own song. It’s still considered the one with the most ku-NECK-shun even though Andy Williams had a smash hit with it.

  2. hi. what is the meaning of the song “mean river”? like, what is it’s message?

  3. Actually, there is a Huckleberry Hound mask in the film. Paul tries it on in the 5 and ten, but wears a different dog mask when he leaves the store. It has to be more than coincidence.

  4. Moon – girl
    River – guy

    Moon is so up high, while the River will forever keep on flowing. Their ends do not meet where they are. They are both dreamers, both having dreams to fulfill. Then, when they’re already both successful and ready, their paths shall cross in style one day, on that same rainbow’s end.

Leave a Reply

