You Send Me – American Idol Season 5 – Taylor Hicks

One of the greatest songs ever made.  Written and performed by Sam Cooke, You Send Me hits #1 on Pop Singles Chart and Black Singles Chart in 1957.   Cover by Teresa Brewer in 1957 hits #8 on Pop Singles Chart and in 1968, a cover by Aretha Franklin hits #56 on the Pop Single Chart.

Darling you send me
Darling you send me, yeah
Darling you send me (Come on baby, come on)
Honest you do (You know it)
Honest you do (Come on, don’t be nervous)
Honest you do

Darling you move me
Darling you move me, yeah
Darling you move me
Honest you do
Honest you do

Oh, and at first I thought it was infatuation
But, oh, it’s lasted so long
That now I find myself wanting to marry you
And take you home

Oh, you send me
Darling you send me
Darling you, you, you send me
Honest you do
Honest you do

Oh, and at first I thought it was infatuation
But, oh, it’s lasted so long
That now I find myself wanting to marry you
And take you home

Oh, you move me, yeah
Darling you move me
Darling you move me
Honest you do
Honest you do


Sam Cooke

During American Idol Season 5, Taylor Hicks performed You Send Me to great reviews and a standing ovation from Paula. 

Taylor Hicks – American Idol 5 Winner

Smokie Robinson

The Manhattans

Also covered by The Supremes, Sam & Dave, Percy Sledge, Paul Anka, Dixie Chicks, Four Seasons, and Ben E. King.

So which is your favorite? Does it have any special meaning in your life? How does Taylor’s version stack up?  Should he record it?

One response to “You Send Me – American Idol Season 5 – Taylor Hicks

  1. I have an AWESOME version by Otis Redding, as well. Aaron Neville just did a very nice cover of it on his Bring it on home CD.

    Personally, I thought that Taylor’s ending on this was sheer brilliance.

Leave a Reply

