Sitting On the Dock of the Bay – American Idol Season 3 – George Huff

Written by Otis Redding and Steve Cropper and recorded on December 6 and 7, 1967.  Tragically, Redding died in a plane crash 3 days later.  The song was released and raced to #1 on both the R&B and Pop charts in the summer 0f 1968, and the album reached #4 on the Pop Albums chart. 

Covered by artists including Willie Nelson, Michael Bolton, Pearl Jam,  and Peggy Lee, Sittin’ continues to be a most performed song and was ranked by Rolling Stone as the #161 album on it’s list of 500 Greatest Albums.  The song was also featured in several movies including Top Gun.  In American Idol Season 3, George Huff performed a great version of Sittin’ and helped revive interest in this great song.

 Sittin’ in the mornin’ sun
I’ll be sittin’ when the evenin’ come
Watching the ships roll in
And then I watch ’em roll away again, yeah

  I’m sittin’ on the dock of the bay
  Watching the tide roll away
  Ooo, I’m just sittin’ on the dock of the bay
  Wastin’ time

I left my home in Georgia
Headed for the ‘Frisco bay
‘Cause I’ve had nothing to live for
And look like nothin’s gonna come my way

  So I’m just gonna sit on the dock of the bay
  Watching the tide roll away
  Ooo, I’m sittin’ on the dock of the bay
  Wastin’ time

Look like nothing’s gonna change
Everything still remains the same
I can’t do what ten people tell me to do
So I guess I’ll remain the same, yes

Sittin’ here resting my bones
And this loneliness won’t leave me alone
It’s two thousand miles I roamed
Just to make this dock my home

  Now, I’m just gonna sit at the dock of the bay
  Watching the tide roll away
  Oooo-wee, sittin’ on the dock of the bay
  Wastin’ time

(whistle)

George Huff (Season 3)

Justin Guarini (Season 1)

Otis Redding – Absolutely No Comparison

Michael Bolton

Ysabellabrave – The rythm simulates the tide rolling in and out.

Peggy Lee  http://www.fatcity.co.uk/audio/postprocessed/peggyleesittindockbay09.mp3

So when was the last time you “sat on the dock waiting for the tide to come in”?

Leave a Reply

