To Love Somebody – American Idol Season 6 – Jordin Sparks

To Love Somebody was a 1967 hit written and performed by the Bee Gees, reaching #17 on the Pop Chart in the US and #41 in the UK.   This was during the Bee Gees soft rock period.    I would question any current Idol contestant that takes on this song, but Jordin Sparks (Season 6)  did just that.  Maybe (since she is only 17) she didn’t know that during Season 2 Josh Gracin  turned in a decent performance and Clay Aiken turned in a spectacular performance.

And if that isn’t tough enough, To Love Somebody has also been performed by Janis Joplin, Ray LaMontagne, Bonnie Tyler, and Nina Simone.  So what do you think?  How did Jordin do?

Theres a light
A certain kind of light
That never shone on me
I want my life to be lived with you
Lived with you
Theres a way everybody say
To do each and every little thing
But what does it bring
If I aint got you, aint got ?
You dont know what its like, baby
You dont know what its like
To love somebody
To love somebody
To love somebody
The way I love you
In my brain
I see your face again
I know my frame of mind
You aint got to be so blind
And Im blind, so very blind
Im a man, cant you see
What I am
I live and breathe for you
But what good does it do
If I aint got you, aint got

Bee Gees – 1967

Ray LaMontagne and Damien Rice

Janis Joplin – 1969

Josh Gracin – American Idol Season 2

Bonnie Tyler – Rock for Asia 2005

Clay Aiken – American Idol Season 2

Nina Simone

Jordin Sparks

So what do you think?  How did Jordin stack up?

One response to “To Love Somebody – American Idol Season 6 – Jordin Sparks

  1. I was disappointed. Her verses were nice and tense but I didn’t feel the melodic release of the chorus like I should have. But then again how can you top Ray L and D. Rice’s version. That is just too sweet for words.

    Janis on the other hand, seperates herself from contempoaries (she must have done this close to 1967) through commanding the verses with deep emotions…Jordin, missed that here too.

    Who’d have thunk Bon Jovi night would bring such greatness and BeeGee night would be crap-tacular?

Leave a Reply

