Everybody Gonna Dance Tonight

I went to youtube looking for music – you know – where you start with a video and then find a link to another – and after an hour (or 2) you find something great. If you haven’t listened to Paul McCartney’s new stuff, you are missing some classic tunes. I picked two songs from his new 2007 album Memory Almost Full – Dance Tonight which is just a typical McCartney happy song with a great beat and End of the End – about celebrating the “day that I die”.

Dance Tonight (partial lyrics)

Everybody gonna stamp their feet
Everybody’s gonna feel the beat
Everybody wanna dance around tonight

End of the End (partial lyrics)

On the day that I die I’d like bells to be rung
And songs that were sung to be hung out like blankets
That lovers have played on
And laid on while listening to songs that were sung

From Chaos and Creation in the Backyard (2005), I selected Jenny Wren – a song that reminds me a little of Blackbird.

Jenny Wren (Chaos and Creation in the Backyard) (partial lyrics)

Like so many girls, Jenny Wren could sing
But a broken heart, took her soul away

Like the other girls, Jenny Wren took wing
She could see the world, and it’s foolish ways

How, we, spend our days, casting, love aside
Losing, site of life, day, by, day

So have you listened to any of Paul’s new material and what do you think of it? I think my all-time favorite McCartney song is Eleanor Rigby – what’s yours?

Eleanor Rigby (partial lyrics)

All the lonely people
Where do they all come from?
All the lonely people
Where do they all belong?

3 responses to “Everybody Gonna Dance Tonight

  1. RedRoseSpeedway

    I’m so sorry I didn’t find this blog sooner. I am a HUGE McCartney fan and I simply love his new album! Some of the ones that stand out for me are “House of Wax” and “Only Mama Knows”. I love how he fools us in the beginning with the classical music (which is beautiful) and then rocks out. Just great. All time fave song? TOOO terribly hard to pick just one. I have so many many favorites. By the way, have you seen his new video for “Ever Present Past”? It’s on youtube. He dances about like the ham he is- very funny and charming.

  2. Saw it a few days ago. He certainly is aging well in both body and mind.

  3. RedRoseSpeedway

    Yes, I don’t know how he does it. He’s lived through so much heartache and grief and yet he perserveres like a pro. An amazing man.

Leave a Reply

