Not Like Anything Else on the Radio

I was listening to Little Buddy Radio yesterday and heard Sally Go Round the Roses by the Jaynetts. Now its probably been at least 20 years since I last heard this song and I marveled at the mysteriousness of it. I started thinking about songs that sounded so different the first time I heard them. Songs that weren’t like anything else on the radio. So I will offer a few of my choices and will add others based on your recommendations.

Sally Go Round the Roses (1963) – The Jaynetts (partial lyrics)

Sally go round the roses (sally go round the roses)
Sally go round the roses (sally go round the pretty roses)
Hope this place can’t hurt you (hope this place can’t hurt you)
Roses they can’t hurt you (roses they can’t hurt you)
Sally don’t you go, don’t you go downtown
Sally don’t you go-o, don’t you go downtown
Saddest thing in the whole wide world
Is see your baby with another girl

Try this site for some interesting background by Artie Butler on the song.

Telstar (1962) – The Tornados

Telstar is a 1962 instrumental record performed by The Tornados. It was the first single by a British band to reach number one on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100, and was also a number one hit in the UK. The record was named after the AT&T communications satellite Telstar, and was released five weeks after its launch into orbit in July 1962.

House of the Rising Sun (1964) – The Animals (partial lyrics)

Oh mother tell your children
Not to do what I have done
Spend your lives in sin and misery
In the House of the Rising Sun

Well, I got one foot on the platform
The other foot on the train
I’m goin’ back to New Orleans
To wear that ball and chain

Well, there is a house in New Orleans
They call the Rising Sun
And it’s been the ruin of many a poor boy
And God I know I’m one

Regardless of its sources of inspiration, The Animals’ take on “House of the Rising Sun” sounded wholly new: writer Dave Marsh described it as “the first folk-rock hit,” sounding “as if they’d connected the ancient tune to a live wire,”[1] while writer Ralph McLean of the BBC agreed that “it was arguably the first folk rock tune,” calling it “a revolutionary single” after which “the face of modern music was changed forever.”[2] Wikipedia

I was 15 when this song was a hit and I remember how worldly it made us feel. Pretty radical back then for a song on the radio to be so blatantly about a “house of prostitution”.

Everybody Wants to Rule the World (1985) – Tears for Fears (partial lyrics)

Now I have to admit that the video helps make this song. Getting in a sports car and just driving – the freedom – the pleasure (Help make the most of freedom and of pleasure).

Welcome to your life
There’s no turning back
Even while sleep
We will find you
Acting on your best behaviour
Turn your back on mother nature
Everybody wants to rule the world
It’s my own design
It’s my own remorse
Help me to decide
Help make the most
Of freedom and of pleasure
Nothing ever lasts forever
Everybody wants to rule the world

Alright – Your turn. What have I missed over the last 20 years? Are there any new sounds that can stand up to these classics?

Leave a Reply

