The Taylor Effect

Note: Just had 15 grape vines, 75 strawberry plants, 2 elderberry bushes, 8 raspberry and 12 blackberry plants show up. Got to get them planted ASAP. So this is condensed version.

ETA: Thanks to Sunny for link to Josiah on Ellen Show.

About 2 years ago, millions heard “I was born by the river” and had to look to see who was singing. This was our introduction to Taylor Hicks and over the next 3 months, we saw Taylor turn American Idol upside down. He was Simon’s and Nigel’s worse nightmare – a top 12 contestant that refused to conform. Week after week, the Soul Patrol got stronger and bigger.

So TBTB seemed determined to make sure this didn’t happen again. With all the millions they make from the show, they also wanted the millions from a top selling recording artist. So we get Season 6 – the most boring season ever. AI went from probably the best group of contestants (Season 5) to the worst (Season 6). Ratings drop and no superstar emerges from this cast of “Idols”.

So how do they fix it for Season 7? They bring in a bunch of “ringers” who they believe can be packaged to sell records. Just one little problem – Josiah Leming.

Now the question is – Why was Josiah cut? Because of his performance of Stand By Me? I think not. His first 2 auditions were too strong. Was it because he dismissed the band? I doubt that too. Each contestant only got 5 minutes with the band. Josiah tried to get the band to play the song the way he heard it in his head but couldn’t get it done in 5 minutes. So I’m guessing he was given a choice of either singing with the band unrehearsed or singing acapella. I doubt if cockiness or arrogance had anything to do with it.

But Josiah was about to be the next Taylor. When I looked at the AI forum, it looked to me like the Josiah related postings outnumbered all the other contestants combines. Even after he was cut, the number of Josiah postings was impressive – even with the board ops deleting Josiah related threads.

Josiah’s fan base reminds me of Taylor’s. Read a few postings and you’ll see comments like “My granddaughters and I love Josiah”, “I’m in my 30’s and the mother of 3 and love Josiah”, “My wife and I love Josiah”, “I love his passion”, “I’ve never visited a message board before”, “I’ve never tried to look up an AI contestant on the Internet before”, etc. Remind anyone else of the Soul Patrol?

Since being cut from AI, Josiah has sold thousands of dollars of downloads of his music, two of his original compositions have received over 250,000 hits on YouTube, he is scheduled to be on Ellen tomorrow (Feb 19), and is also going to be on MTV. I think TPTB knew that Josiah had the potential to quickly attract a huge fan base, take the lead, and never relinquish it. So he’s gone, and Idol is the worse for it. In my opinion, Josiah was the most creative contestant AI has ever had.

One Last Song – Written and Performed by Josiah Leming

6 responses to “The Taylor Effect

  1. Not much more to add to what you have already said. You hit it dead on!

    Taylor is my Idol and so is Josiah.

    Sure, they are musically very different.. but cut from the same cloth! Creative and original! I am both sad and happy for Josiah that AI saw him coming!

    I think that Taylor is going to be better off without Idol! Can not wait for his nest album unleashed!

    Don’t forget… Josiah on Ellen tomorrow!!

  2. Typical 19E/A.I. crap. This season is chock a block full of tried it and didn’t make its. This kid comes from no where. Rather than give him a shot at tipping the image they cut him before he could get a foot hold.

    Would have been a hella exciting season watch this kid go from living in his car to making an impact.

    TPTB were afraid of his running the show out of their control. I think he would have done just that. It’s really too bad. This show has forgotten what made it a hit.

  3. celebrityblondebabe

    My scenerio…
    Certainly…AI and TPTB had a master plan prior to any auditions. This is not reality tv…other than, the reality that these contestants are being played without their scripts…not knowing who has the main part and who are just standins …even TPTB are not quite sure at this moment…they have secret meetings about each weeks progress and slap each other on the back as they profess to each other the large amounts of money in store for them if they find the perfect puppet. Leaving ten in the top with America to deal with (by that time they won’t care who America chooses…America can’t help but get it right), they will cut and cut till they are down to those that do not know their ultimate scheme of things to come. Happy with any chance (again) to make it in the industry…they sign away their money, rights, soul…to the hungry beast and after it is all over…the beast fills his loin with their success. Terrible thought…Reality!

  4. Hi, here’s a link to the Ellen Show with Josiah:
    Josiah sings his own song.
    Fantastic of Ellen to put him on. He hits a few flats but overall good for him.

  5. Sunny, thanks for link. He did a good job.

  6. I hadn’t watched AI this year, I have just grown weary of the manipulation and since season 5 they are so focused on retaining total control that they have pretty much ruined the show IMO.
    When I heard about Josiah, I looked for him on Youtube. I liked him. A pretty good singer, good on the piano, very creative and original, a one of a kind type, not what AI is looking for.
    I think hes a very good songwriter, very talented, and with the attention he has gotten maybe he will make it. If he can he will be better off to do it without AI.
    Glad Ellen had him on.

Leave a Reply

