1980’s Night(s) – American Idol 7

Here’s a few great songs from the 80’s the contestants should try this week.

  • Queen of Hearts – Juice Newton
  • Bette Davis Eyes – Kim Carnes
  • Call Me – Blondie
  • Jessie’s Girl – Rich Springfield
  • Total Eclipse of the Heart – Bonnie Tyler
  • Sweet Dreams – Eurythmics
  • Time After Time – Cyndi Lauper
  • Another Day in Paradise – Phil Collins
  • Lady – Kenny Rogers
  • Key Largo – Bertie Higgins
4 responses to “1980’s Night(s) – American Idol 7

  1. Those would be good choices if approved but here’s a listing of ‘spoilers’:
    1- Every Time You Go Away
    2- What About Love
    3- Tainted Love
    4- The Greatest Love of All
    5- Father Figure
    6- Open Arms
    7- Rebel Yell
    8- The Rose
    9- Bette Davis Eyes
    10- Celebration
    11- Call Me
    12- Always Something There to Remind Me
    13- What’s Love Got to do With it
    14- Hurts so Good
    15- We Built This City
    16- Every Breath You Take

    I was thinking, What? “We Built this City”? Man, we’ll soon see if these are true.

  2. Well, 2 of them are on my list. Several others I considered and rejected. We’ll see how they do with them.

    I think Brooke doing Queen of Hearts would be a winner.

  3. So much for accuracy in the spoilers I got, but Danny did do “Tainted Love”. My favorites last night, David Cook, who surprised me with that creative rendition of “Hello” and Jason Castro. He has no vocal education and sang that really well. He stumbled on that last note, but it worked.

    I really think they overrated Johns, I thought his performance was not good. David A. can sing but his tongue lashing through the songs and his gasping are distracting. I can not imagine wanting to buy his Cds nor attend his concerts.

    Who are your favorites from the night?

  4. Most of the guys were good, but none were great. David A has a great voice and phrasing and may grow into an adult performer, but he’s not there yet. Michael Johns just seems to go through the motions – almost like he’s just rehearsing.

    The way I judge them is this – would I go down to the corner bar to hear them sing if it was cold and rainy outside? Jason C maybe – but none of the other guys. I’m hoping one of the girls will step up. So far I don’t see any winners there either.

Leave a Reply

