Country Music Fans – More Patriotic?

I just checked Caitlin and Will’s Myspace page to see if any new information had been posted about their album.  Caitlin and Will are the winners of the CMT show “Can You Duet?  What I found was this post by Caitlin:

9-11

As I sit here and type I am watching the 9-11 footage on the History Channel. I have tears in my eyes and I am speechless. I feel as though I did that very same day. I am confused, scared to death, stunned and I ache for those people and everyone that I am watching here on video. Deserted streets, debris falling, people falling…and all I can do is cry. I watch as people wave out of the towers above the smoke and flames and I know they are no longer with us…I hear a 911 operator tell someone on the 105th floor to sit tight and stay where they are, and then he hangs up and you can tell hes irritated…I feel sick.

On Thursday (9-11-08) I didnt even know it was the anniversary. It was just like any other day for me, and I feel guilty about that. I feel bad because we forget…WE ALL FORGET. And watching this footage makes me remember and takes me back to that day as if I were just watching it live. Oh my God, thats all I can say. Over and over again. I wish everyone in the USA were watching this…we need to be reminded of what happened…we cant forget.

My father is in the Navy and as a result of these terrorist attacks he was sent over seas for 6 months in 2002. Now 5 years later we have found out he is going back this October 2008. Watching this reminds me why he is in the Navy and how much I appreciate his and every other man and woman who are strong enough to become a member of our armed forces. I love my Father very much and me, my Dad and my family would greatly appreciate any prayers you could send to us and him.

From this day forward I hope you will all join with me and say I WILL NEVER FORGET…and mean it.

God Bless everyone who lost someone that day, God Bless our soldiers far away and at home, and God Bless The United States of America and everyone else in the world…

C

All the comments are also supportive.  I know it’s not fair to generalize from this one post, but it seems to me that there is an inherent difference in the way country artists and fans are wired as compared to rock artists and fans.  That would make a great thesis for some graduate student.

Leave a Reply

