My One and Only Thrill – Number 12 on Amazon

Melody Gardot’s My One and Only Thrill released today (April 28) and is #12 on Amazon.  Pretty good for an unknown jazz/blues singer on her debut major label album.  I’m a little late to order, it so I can only go by the samples, the live performances she did during her chat last week, and Youtube performances.   Love it.  I wonder if her perfect pitch is a result of her severe Hyperacusis/Tinnitus?

Give the album a try and let me know what you think.

ETA: Free Listening Party

ETA:  It hurts me to say this, but I don’t think this album is as good as Worrisome Heart.  The stripped down versions of the songs she performed during her chat were fantastic.  The songs with the full orchestra – not so much.  I love the rawness of Melody’s music and it seems to be lost on this album.  Really disappointed in Who Will Comfort Me.  Compare it to this version on Youtube and I think you might agree the Youtube version is better.

Leave a Reply

