Review of Bob Dylan’s Tempest – 5 Stars

Dylan is OK, but I never bought any of his albums – until now.  Tempest is a fantastic album and will probably make it on to my all time favorites list.  Bob’s voice is only a growl, but growl he does as his voice becomes just another instrument in these sad and reflective songs.

Duquesne Whistle –  My favorite song on the album. I listened to it on a walk along the river and it has the perfect rhythm for a nice walk.  I guess Bob thinks so too because the video for this song is Bob and a scraggly group walking around a city.

I wonder if they’ll know me next time around
I wondered if that old oak tree’s still standing
That old oak tree, the one we used to climb
Listen to that Duquesne whistle blowing
Blowing like she’s blowing right on time


Soon After Midnight – Least favorite.

A gal named Honey,
Took my money,

Bob, what were you thinking?

Narrow Way – It’s all about the beat.  Another great walking song – with attitude!

I heard a voice, at the dusk of day Saying,
“Be gentle brother, be gentle and pray.”
It’s a long road, it’s a long and narrow way
If I cant work up to you, you’ll surely have to work down to me someday

Long And Wasted Years – Sounds like a funeral march!

It’s been a while, since we walked down that long, long aisle we cried on a cold and frosty morn, we cried because our souls were torn so much for tears so much for these long and wasted years.

Pay In Blood – the imperfection of man.

I’ll give you justice, I’ll fatten your purse
Show me your moral virtues first
Hear me holler and hear me moan
I pay in blood but not my own
You pet your lover in the bed
Come here, I’ll break your lousy head
Our nation must be saved and freed

Scarlet Town – Reminiscing (and walking).

I’ve been down,I’ve been down
Mean and empty,broke an’ bust
End of my tether,down on luck
Last chance,last chance
Scarlet Town,on my way
Scarlet Town,Scarlet Town.

Early Roman Kings – Greed (and walking).  Favorite line – Ding dong daddy.

They buy and they sell
They destroyed your city
They’ll destroy you as well
They’re lecherous and treacherous

Tin Angel – Love gone bad, real bad (and walking).

It was late last night when the boss came home
To a deserted mansion and a desolate throne
Servant said: “Boss, the lady’s gone
She left this morning just ‘fore dawn.”

Tempest – The sinking of the Titanic (and walking).

The ship was going under
The universe had opened wide
The roll was called up yonder
The angels turned aside

Roll On John

Doctor, doctor, tell me the time of day
Another bottle’s empty
Another penny spent
He turned around and he slowly walked away
They shot him in the back and down he went
Shine your light, move it on,
you burn so bright, roll on John

Most of the songs are 1 – 2 – 3, a waltz.  I get the impression this is Dylan’s last waltz, much like The Man Comes Around featuring Hurt was Johnny Cash’s.

Leave a Reply

